Blogger’s Quilt Festival – Modern Category: Untitled

Welcome to my blog! It’s a new blog and a modest one at that, but you’ll find that I work hard to quilt every day. This is where I record progress, triumphs, and sometimes failures.

Right now I’m sharing a triumph in the blogger’s quilt festival – modern category.

IMG_9023-1024x1024

I am a member of the very fabulous Victoria MQG and as such we were included in the annual call for entries to the Quilt! Knit! Stitch! show in Portland this summer. The theme this year was BTW: Black to White.

I was inspired by a quilt made by Amy Garro that she made from a whole cloth furoshiki. (Click on the link to read all about her process for that quilt.)

Untitled

Untitled, detail

I love this picture so much.

The layout and quilting came out exactly the way I had pictured it in my head. I was thrilled to bits when this quilt (and one more too!) were both accepted to the show. To have two quilts juried into a show with only 19 quilts total is a pretty awesome feeling!

Untitled 2

Thank heaven for mothers-in-law with very neutral apartments.

Untitled, detail 2

Details

Name: Untitled (because I suck at naming quilts)
Design:
 Designed by me! Inspired by a quilt from Amy Garro of 13 Spools
Fabric:  approx. 15 shades of greys and whites. Kona, Bella, and Free Spirit solids. Binding, can’t remember.
Dimensions: 29″ x 29″
Quilted:  Walking foot straight line quilting done with various greys and white threads.

I am linking up (for the very first time!) with the fabulous and formidable Blogger’s Quilt Festival, hosted by Amy’s Creative Side. And I love how her button MATCHES MY QUILT. Thanks Amy!

IMG_9023-1024x1024

7 thoughts on “Blogger’s Quilt Festival – Modern Category: Untitled

    • Thank you so much for your lovely comments and compliments! I’ve got leftover greys if you still need some.

      And I checked out your blog; I’ve heard of you around the internet for a while but I can’t believe I haven’t followed yours before. Will be fixing that right away!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: My best of 2015 | handwroughtquilts

Comments are awesome. So are you.

