Day 358

I’m back! I went to Vancouver and saw some gorgeous modern quilts. There were some not so gorgeous ones too but it was my very first all-modern show and it was wonderful. Also wonderful was two days and nights by myself. I bought fabric and went out for lunch and took nearly three hundred pictures but those will be for another day because today, I sewed.

I’ve been good about finishes this summer but I’m itching to piece something. Instead of starting another quilt I pulled out an in-progress quilt to work on. It’s the husband door quilt. Searching the archives tells me I have previously tagged this one “hst value quilt.” It’s a quilt to cover the door of the living room so that when husband is working and I am sewing the sound of the machine is somewhat blocked. At some point I needed to make more blocks so today I did.

IMG_3874

This quilt is all earth toned batiks (and blue and grey too, but mostly mud and tree colours). I found this bit of hand dyed blue when I made my blue and orange plus quilt so I save it for this project. The browns in the top right were a dollar at the guild garage sale a couple of weeks ago and to find the beige bits which are definitely not batik but I don’t care anymore, I went to the pile of 5″ squares.

IMG_3873

7″ of charm squares.

 

One thought on “Day 358

  1. It always makes me feel virtuous to pull out a work in progress, and make some progress on it. Good for you! If you need more batik squares, I could probably help you out, just email me with colors and your address. The show in Vancouver looked great.

    Like

Comments are awesome. So are you.

