Cloud9 New Block Blog Hop

Hello and welcome to Handwrought Quilts! If this is your first time here feel free to check out my other posts and projects. I’ve been blogging for one year and four days, I love colour and quilts, and I try to sew everyday.

block-button-med

There was quite an evolutionary process for this block…armed with ideas and my trusty Brackman’s I set to work. But first do you know Barbara Brackman? She’s a quilter, an author, fabric designer, and quilt historian. Her website is HERE but she also has her own wikipedia page (how cool is that!?) Whenever I do something with blocks I check out her book to see if my idea has been done before. She is an incredible resource for all quilters and I think everyone should know about her.

Back to my block! My first idea had 80° diamonds. That would have been super fiddly, so you’re welcome. A few more ideas I explored turned out to have been done before but the one thing all my ideas had in common was an idea of layers and transparencies. So I kept plugging away.

My final idea came from a photo I took of a door on a new building in town. I modified it to fit the parameters of this challenge and am quite pleased with how it turned out. Checked out Brackman’s of course and found something maybe a little bit similar-ish but not actually this so yay! I also think my construction of this block is unique.

img_0729

Bordered Square Quilt Block Tutorial

img_3931

This tutorial assumes basic sewing/quilting knowledge, especially of a 1/4″ seam, pressing and nesting seams. You’re in Canada now so the words colour, centre, and grey are going to look a bit different to some of you. It will be okay. 

This block is suitable for a beginner and is quick to make. From the first cut to the final press took me 25 minutes.

Supplies: 24″ ruler, thread, fabrics, cutting mat, rotary cutter

Fabric: grey, light colour, darker [but same] colour

Cutting instructions:

  1. from the grey, cut a 9.5″ square
  2. from the lighter colour, cut 2 strips 2.5″ x 9.5″
  3. from the lighter colour, cut 2 strips 2.5″ x 13.5″
  4. from the darker [but same] colour, cut a 2.5″ square

img_3919

Since I was working with fat quarters (FQ) I cut a 2.5″ x 19″ strip from the longest side of the FQ and cut it in half. I then cut my 2 strips of 2.5″ x 13.5″ from the short side of the FQ.

img_3921

Sewing instructions: Taking your large grey square and the short strips, attach a strip to two opposite sides of the square.

img_3922

Press seams to the coloured side strips.

img_3923

Take the long strips and attach them to the top and bottom of the square.

img_3924

Press seams to the coloured strips.

img_3925

Your bordered square should measure 13.5″ square.

Lay the bordered square on your cutting mat. You will make several cuts now – do not move ANYTHING until all four cuts have been made. Measure 5.5″ from the left side and cut. Measure 8″ from the left side and cut. Measure 5.5″ from the bottom and cut. Measure 8″ from the bottom and cut. *if you only have a 6″ wide ruler, measure 5.5″ from the left, 5.5″ from the right, and same again for top and bottom.

Your cut apart block will look like this:

img_3926

Swap out the centre 2.5″ square of grey for the darker coloured square.

img_3928

Take the 2.5″ wide centre strips and rotate each one 180°. Now your cut apart block will look like this:

img_3929

Assemble this as you would a 9patch, sewing left side to the centre then the right side to the centre. Press the seams out on the top and bottom and in on the centre section.

img_3930

Continue the assembly, sewing the top to the middle then the bottom to the middle. I don’t sew with pins but if you’re unsure of nesting your seams perfectly, pins can help. Press seams out. Give block an all over press. Ta-done! Block should measure 12.5″.

img_3931

Oh look, it also comes in blue!

img_3932

img_3934

Congratulations, you have completed my bordered square block! I would love to see what you create. If you are on Instagram, tag me (@handwroughtquilts) and any images of your block. Or send an email to handwroughtquilts(at)gmail(dot)com with a photograph or a link to a blog post about your quilt.

Here are links to the other blogs for the blog hop.

Monday, September 12th

Host: Yvonne @Quilting Jetgirl

Abigail @Cut & Alter
Janice @Color, Creating, and Quilting!
Lorinda @Laurel, Poppy, and Pine
Melva @Melva Loves Scraps
Renee @Quilts of a Feather
Kathryn @Upitis Quilts
Kim @Leland Ave Studios
Amanda @this mom quilts
Holly @Lighthouse Lane Designs
Irene @Patchwork and Pastry
Jennifer @Dizzy Quilter
Karen @Tu-Na Quilts, Travels, and Eats
Anne @Said With Love
Suzy @Adventurous Applique and Quilting
Sharla @Thistle Thicket Studio
Kathleen @Smiles From Kate
Amanda @Gypsy Moon Quilt Co.
Sarah @Sarah Goer Quilts
Chelsea @Patch the Giraffe
Jinger @Trials of a Newbie Quilter
Anja @Anja Quilts
Daisy @Ants to Sugar

Tuesday, September 13th

Host: Cheryl @Meadow Mist Designs

Jennifer @The Inquiring Quilter
Sarah @123 Quilt
Leanne @Devoted Quilter
Jen @Patterns By Jen
Jennifer @RV Quilting
Amanda @Quiltologie
Sharon @Yellow Cat Quilt Designs
Jen @A Dream and A Stitch
Jen @Faith and Fabric
Carole @Carole Lyles Shaw
Stephanie @Quilt’n Party
Susan @Sevenoaks Street Quilts
Katrin @Now What Puppilalla
Amista @Hilltop Custom Designs
Nicole @Handwrought Quilts (hey-o, that’s me!)
Marla @Penny Lane Quilts
Silvia @A Stranger View
Sarah @Smiles Too Loudly
Carrie @the zen quilter
Mary @Quilting is in My Blood
Velda @GRANNYcanQUILT

Wednesday, September 14th

Host: Stephanie @Late Night Quilter

Kathy @Kathys Kwilts and More
Paige @Quilted Blooms
Mary @Strip Quilts Pass it On
Allison @Woodberry Way
Seven @The Concerned Craft
Olusola @Alice Samuel’s Quilt Co.
Ann @Brown Paws Quilting
Jodie @Persimmon + Pear
Vicki @Orchid Owl Quilts
Kitty @Night Quilter
Francine @Mocha Wild Child
Shelley @The Carpenter’s Daughter who Quilts
Jayne @Twiggy and Opal
Geraldine @Living Water Quilter
Shannon @Shannon Fraser Designs
Lisa @Sunlight In Winter Quilts
Jessica @Quilty Habit
Cassandra @The (not so) Dramatic Life
Deanna @Stitches Quilting
Denise @Craft Traditions
Cassandra @The (not so) Dramatic Life
Deanna @Stitches Quilting
Denise @Craft Traditions

Jayne at Twiggy & Opal made a pinterest page (board?) of all the blocks. And Katrin at Puppilalla did something similar too.

Thanks to Cloud9 for the fabrics and each of the hosts for all the work they’ve done.

34 thoughts on “Cloud9 New Block Blog Hop

  1. Pingback: Cloud9 New Block Blog Hop, Day 2 – Quilting Jetgirl

  2. Pingback: 2016 Cloud9 new block blog hop | penny lane quilts

  3. Hi Mme Handwrought, This is a fabulous tutorial reminiscent of disappearing nine patch. I particularly love the neutral grey !, how you cut down the centre ! and how you used two colours!. I look forward to seeing what you do with the leftovers.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Cloud 9 New Block Blog Hop | Dizzy Quilter

  5. Lol. Thank you for not doing the block with fiddly pieces! I really enjoyed your post! I think the block construction is really clever. Also, congrats on your one year blogiversary!

    Like

  6. That’s a great tip to check Barbara Brackman’s site when designing an original block. I love how you separated the fabric into 2 colorways. There is quilt inspiration everywhere we go on a daily basis!

    Like

  7. This is a great block. i love the way you constructed it….although the technique of cutting into something I’ve already sewn always freaks me out.

    Like

  8. Nicole, I love your block and your clever construction method! Your use of the grey fabric, showing it in two colour ways, and the way you popped in those centre squares really made it special. (I’m pretty close to the border, so maybe I can be bilingual in my spelling! 😉)

    Like

  9. I thought your post was so funny – colour, centre…yep, I’m still ok! and I’m never sure how to spell grey (gray?). Good tip on the Brackman reference – my post goes up tomorrow so I’m afraid to look at this point. I will use it next time. Really neat block, and cool in 2 color ways. Nice job!

    Like

  10. Pingback: 2016 Cloud9 new block blog hop {raspberry swirl quilt block tutorial} | Gypsy Moon Quilt Co.

  11. Pingback: Cloud9 Quilter’s Blog Hop Block 2016 – The Concerned Craft

  12. Pingback: Berry Blossom Block for the 2016 Cloud 9 New Block Blog Hop | Quilting is in my Blood

  13. This is a great block! I think I will teach this block to the gals in my quilting group. We’re always looking for new blocks for the charity quilts. This block has a fun factor. Kind of like magic. Thanks for the great tutorial. I will have to remember this one for sure. Karen

    Like

  14. Pingback: Tu-Na Quilts: Presenting Anne’s Flower | Tu-Na Quilts, Travels, and Eats

Comments are awesome. So are you.

