Rainbow minis, a finished quilt, sort of

Once upon a time in a far-away land…well it was actually fall of 2011. And it was here. Ahem. There were some bare walls in the children’s bedroom. The brave and smart husband asked the talented and beautiful wife if she could make some quilts for decoration. The wife needed no further urging to make quilts…

Here is the story of a mini quilt I made and what happened next.

In fall of 2011 I bookmarked a pattern on the moda bake shop website I had liked (this of course was before I started making my own patterns). I didn’t think I wanted to make an entire quilt but this pattern would lend itself nicely to a mini.

I made this quilt:

img_0833

When I was trying to decide how to quilt it, I thought I could make an inverse version.

So I made this quilt next to have a pair:

img_0834

But for some reason lost in the passage of time I made some strange spacing decisions. It has bugged me and B. ever since.

img_0835

This summer I had had enough of this terribly spaced quilt. The MQG had a sew day on Instagram and combined with the August appliqué mighty lucky challenge I set out to do a remake.

img_0854
What does it mean when you still have the fabrics you used five years ago?

img_0855

Success at last! A perfect matched set of mini quilts.

img_1267
Original on the left, new companion piece on the right.

But wait…I made the originals during my “snow” phase, when I thought snow was whiter than white. I also didn’t have a Kona card to show me how wrong I was.

So now what? My remake doesn’t match! Quite a few swear words were said.

Time for version four:

img_0870
Good thing I STILL have fabric left over.

img_0873

I think I should rename this project the philospher’s quilt.

 

img_1268

Ta-done! I had wanted to link up with the Needle and Thread network for this sort-of epic project but missed the window due to being trapped away from home at a mechanic’s. But loads of people link up mid-week with Lorna at Sew Fresh Quilts so I’ll be over there, hanging out. And with My Quilt Infatuation too…Friday will be here soon enough so I might as well get some lovin’ from linking up with Crazy Mom Quilts!

linkybeesnttbutton1_zps9633aaf2W_I_P__Wednesday___________Link-up___@_The_Needle_&____Thread_Networkcrazy mom quilt

Oh and voting is on now for the Blogger’s Quilt Festival. My quilts are “Modern Hexies” in the modern category and “Get to Know Me” in the mini quilt category.

Even if you don’t vote for mine do please go look at all the other quilts. There’re some beauts this year.

Rainbow minis, a finished quilt, sort of

7 thoughts on “Rainbow minis, a finished quilt, sort of

  1. Laura M says:

    What it means when you still have fabrics from 5 years ago is your creative brain somehow knew you’d need them! Congrats on the finishes. Love the simplicity and the B&W binding.

    Like

  2. Carie says:

    On the basis that they are beautiful minis then clearly your subconscious knew that you’d enjoy making them again some day – they truly are stunning!

    Like

  3. p says:

    Yeah, I once also thought Snow is whiter than White. I also learned the hard way.
    Love how those minis came out. Nothing can beat a bit of rainbow.

    Like

  4. LeahDayQuilting says:

    Beautiful! Since you have so many different versions of this mini quilt, how about using one to experiment with different machine quilting designs?

    Like

Comments are awesome. So are you.

