Day 421

I’ve put the polaroid sashing project on hold while trying to source reasonably priced Kona Iron. But continuing my year long “finish it up” project I dug out this one:

Gridlocked/cross hatch/gridded/totally needs a better name

A couple of years ago I received this lovely fabric in a 2.5″ charm swap I did. I thought “wouldn’t this look cool very large?” So I set to work and enlarged it 1600%

img_1541

Actual size?

The block winds up being 17″ square and the centre checkerboard squares are 1″.

dsc_0992

First block. Colour is Kona Berry.

Work to date:

img_1472

The black/dried blood colour is still Berry. Hard to photograph.

I think I no longer love it enough to make a twin (or heaven forfend, a double/queen). If I make two more blocks and a couple bits to fill in the edges I can get a decent throw size, 53″x65″.

 

Or I can change the layout entirely, moving away from the original concept.

img_1477

One more block would do it for this layout. It would be a very small lap size, 51″ square.

Thoughts for the next colours are: blue, orange, lime green.

All these decisions are hard! Linking up for moral support with Let’s Bee Social and My Quilt Infatuation.

5 thoughts on “Day 421

  1. I like these blocks, and the colors you’ve chosen make it look so fresh and crisp. I’d probably opt for the lap size (first picture), but either would do. Very nice!

    Like

Comments are awesome. So are you.

