Tea Leaves, a finished quilt

img_4047
Needs a wash for extra crinkly goodness, and to get rid of all the markings (especially the pink ones).

Idea was January? February? 2014 I liked the “Chai Tea” quilt from the “Vintage Quilt Revival” book. But I wanted to make mine HUGE. Not sure why I wanted to make it all grey though. Because black tea is wonderful?

chai.jpg

Fabric bought through that winter/spring. Each block took a .25m (not a FQ because I couldn’t actually cut the sizes I needed from a FQ.) Blocks made by April 24, 2014.

I didn’t have the skills to do what I wanted in the blocks so I did the background first. Background quilted between July 2014 and November 16, 2014.

15789956285_a4f605e4fb_b
Isn’t that texture awesome?

Quilt put away after the domestic amputation of my left thumb Nov 16 2014. Bought a long arm to get this quilted (ha!)  and quilted the blocks Sept 22 – Nov 22, 2016. Some of them are awesome, some I was just trying things out. Not much shows up because the colours are so dark but all in all, it was good practice.

collage
Some of my more successful motifs. I also tried to match the quilting to the pattern on the fabric.

Previous posts about this quilt are here and here. Most of the quilt was done before blogging.


Quilt Stats:

Title: Black Tea

Lifetime quilt no.60!

Started: April 2014

Finished: November 24, 2016 (138 weeks)

Size: 90″x90″ (unquilted top), 87.5″x88″ (quilted), still to be washed and measured

Number of pieces: 208

Quilting: dense custom quilting in each block and the background.

This is one of my thirteen projects on the Fourth Quarter of the 2016 Finish Along!

It’s a finish, so linking up with Crazy Mom Quilts and with Myra at Finished or Not Fridays!

Edited to add: quilt is for sale. Super reasonable. Email me for details.

Tea Leaves, a finished quilt

7 thoughts on “Tea Leaves, a finished quilt

Comments are awesome. So are you.

