Oh the hubris is embarrassing

After my last post, I was smug about cleaning up and taking stock of my inventory of 2.5″ squares. And guys! The gods, the universe, karma, and some of my guild members read that and LAUGHED.

I’ve just stepped down after 3.5 years of being guild president (and co-founder) of my fabulous MQG Victoria. As a token of their appreciation my guild went through their stashes and cut some squares to give me.

img_2059-copy

And a KONA colour card too!

img_2063-copy

img_2064-copy

Four hours later…

img_2091-copy

ALL THE COLOURS, ALL THE TIME!

img_2092-copy

And some neutrals to round it out! (And a pile of solids, bottom second from left.) And multi-coloured (bottom second from right)

So of course I had to introduce the new squares to the old squares…

img_2096-copy

There is so much blue, green, multi-coloured, and low-volume they have two piles each.

img_2097-copy

Because this is how I roll, I counted three sets of 100 squares, weighed them all, and took the average. Estimating by weight I have around 8,000 squares now. How much space does that much fabric take up? Less than three shoeboxes luckily. And to convert to yardage gets you 29 metres of fabric (WOF=17 squares, 1m=272 squares). To convert to a quilt…a large queen has 2,500 pieces.

Now to get sewing! And since I’m not running a quilt guild anymore I have a bit more time to do just that.

Thanks MQG Victoria! It was lots of fun.

….

Since this is all going into a scrap quilt, I’m linking up with Oh Scrap! with Cynthia and because it’s NEW fabric to me, Sunday Stash with Molli Sparkles.

15 thoughts on “Oh the hubris is embarrassing

  1. Nicole, it was our immense pleasure having you as president…and cutting your squares. So tell me, what are you going to make with all those squares?

    Like

  2. I second with Heather, it was an absolute delight and I hope I can only do half as well as you did. I know you are going to rock the Social Media for us! 😜

    Like

Comments are awesome. So are you.

