Tidy-up time

The fun thing (or one of the fun things) about teaching is you can check the store’s scrap basket every week. So I’ve had a few weeks of scraps building up, as well as yardage for binding several quilts, and leftovers from ahem, several projects going back a few months. So I did a sort and tidy this afternoon and feel better for it.

I know the online world is all “pictures or it didn’t happen” but I just didn’t take any. Picture a random but sort of tidy pile of scraps. Got it? Yes! That’s exactly what it looked like!

It was very gratifying to finally nail down what I keep/sort and how I sort it:

  • selvedges (not that I’ve ever used them but it’s JUST IN CASE)
  • strings/strips (ditto, but I have plans)
  • tiny scraps, less than 2.5″ square which I will probably stop saving and will send to someone if you are interested
  • 2.5″ squares (LOVE these so much!)
  • small-ish scraps (generally around 5″ square or smaller but bigger than everything mentioned up to now)
  • FQ or less than FQ but bigger than the small-ish scraps
  • bigger than FQ is “yardage”

Tomorrow I get to go to a quilt show (yay!) but I have to take my kids (boo¡). They are great but they do not love quilt shows. I have my bribes ready:

IMG_2712.JPG

One piece at the end of every row. Two if they behaved nicely. I have no shame.

 

4 thoughts on “Tidy-up time

  1. My tiny scraps go into a plastic zipper bag, and when it is full, I pass it to my friend who teaches kindergarten. Her kids love them for collage, or kite tails.

    Like

  2. Good job on the tidying! ( I bought a sewing cabinet at an estate sale yesterday. That precipitated the beginnings of a deep clean and a reshuffling of lots of furniture in the house. I hope in a week or so, to be thoroughly clean and organized!)

    Like

  3. Ahhhh. Thanks for the memories. I have a drivers’ licence but don’t drive. I have five children (now adults) and, back in the day, my husband used to drive me to the odd quilt shop and to quilt shows. Luckily, there was a playground at most places that held quilt shows and so, that’s what my husband did with the five while I was ogling the quilts. I’m sure there was a treat or two for them too.

    Like

Comments are awesome. So are you.

