Non-quilt sewing

Nine years ago I started doing something that is now a tradition in my family; each year I make my daughters a dress for their birthdays. I give them a short list of patterns to choose from and I allow them considerable veto power over fabric choice and decisions.

This year B wanted overall-shorts but I re-directed her to just shorts.

IMG_2731

These are longer than hotpants if you can believe it.

IMG_2732

I personally wouldn’t have chosen sparkly stretch denim, but then I’m about 30 years too old for that to be my favourite.

FullSizeRender-1

And if you’re working with sparkly stretch denim then sparkly rainbow metallic thread is a good choice too.

I’ve never done that style of pocket before. Nor that kind of fly zipper. Last night was a steep learning curve, but a quick one. Start to finish was less than three hours. And B is tickled to death with these.

2 thoughts on “Non-quilt sewing

Comments are awesome. So are you.

