The Day on Which I Affix Many Crests to a Camp Blanket

Have you heard this expression before? “If it weren’t for the last minute I wouldn’t get anything done!”

Exhibit R:

IMG_2778.JPG

Girl Guides wrap up was tonight and since it was an outdoor event, we thought this might be a great opportunity to use her camp blanket. There really are too few places one can sport a crest-covered camp blanket.

All but ten of these were sewn on after school today. I made B work as my thread jockey, bringing me the colour I needed next. And yes, I had the right colour thread for each of the coloured borders.

xlapel-stick-pagespeed-ic-phwnybdniqHave you ever seen this? It’s a glue stick that works better than well, a glue stick. B worked out her placement of the crests and used this to hold them in place while I stitched everything on. Nothing budged as I shoved a large blanket round and round and through the machine.

Happy to brag this was invented in the city I live! And I hear this is excellent for basting hexies and probably paper piecing too.

6 thoughts on “The Day on Which I Affix Many Crests to a Camp Blanket

  1. Many years ago, I figured the glue stick would work on the badges. I also use Wonder Tape. My sister was a cub leader, and after I told her, she told all her parents. Unfortunately, some of them didn’t understand that they had to see them as well.

    Like

  2. I’ve never seen that particular glue stick. I will definitely have to invest in some. Love what you’ve done with the blanket. It’s a perfect thing to do with all those badges. –Andrea

    Like

Comments are awesome. So are you.

