Tooth fairy pillow

My wee one had a wiggly tooth a month or so ago. I thought I had time enough to make a tooth fairy pillow before the tooth fell out. But I forgot about older sisters.

B helped things along and ripped that tooth out around 8:45 one night (well after lights out). Both girls piled into the living room, one holding the tooth aloft and the other jutting out her bleeding gum, both ecstatic. We started work on the tooth fairy pillow the next day.

But it got put away for a while forgotten about, and then W had another wiggly tooth. I found the fairy fabric again but moved slowly. Darned if that new wiggly tooth didn’t get yanked out the next day! W did it herself, at school so that she would get the coveted plastic tooth-shaped tooth holder necklace. That afternoon we made the pillow in about half an hour.

 

Not fabrics I would have chosen or how I wanted to make it, but W is very, very happy with her pillow. She was most adamant that the tooth fairy needed to look like a fairy, not a tooth. Luckily I had a few of these fairy charm squares I bought for 50¢ at a garage sale a while back.

I had no polyfil so I folded up a skinny strip of batting; this is the flattest pillow ever.

All scraps, yay. And finished, extra yay. This was on my 2017 FAL Q2 list.

It amazes me how different two kids can be. B had a strong hand in making her pillow years ago. For this one the tooth goes in the mouth, money in the pocket on the back. This tooth fairy pillow was inspired by this one here.

 

Linking up with Crazy Mom Quilt of course!

7 thoughts on “Tooth fairy pillow

  1. I’m impressed with the coveted tooth holder necklace! All those years of teaching little people and I just sent the teeth home in tiny “tooth envelopes”. Cute pillow, and good job of letting her help plan it. That makes it extra special!

    Like

  2. This is so cute! And I agree with W; the tooth fairy looks like a fairy. She collects teeth; she isn’t herself a tooth. Will keep this in mind for about 2 years from now when my guy starts to lose his teeth.

    Like

  3. Oh yes that coveted plastic tooth necklace! My son got one of those at school too. Such a great finish and I finished two tooth pillows this quarter too. Thanks for linking up on behalf of the 2017 global Finish-A-Long hosts!

    Like

Comments are awesome. So are you.

